Mechanics of Golgari Part 2: Dredge

This time we’re going to look at the original Golgari mechanic, dredge. So, fun fact. Dredge was actually a card before it was a mechanic. See for your self:

Generally its not regarded as a good card. I didn’t play magic during the Invasion Block, so I really can’t pass judgment on it. But I’m not here to talk about the card. Let’s take a look at the dredge mechanic.

The comprehensive rules defines dredge as “a static ability that functions only while the card with dredge is in a player’s graveyard. “Dredge N” means “As long as you have at least N cards in your library, if you would draw a card, you may instead put N cards from the top of your library into your graveyard and return this card from your graveyard to your hand.” Well lets use an example to explain that better, shall we?

The example we shall use is a staple in my own dredge deck:

So lets brake down Dredge. Lets say our friend Shambling Shell here is in your graveyard. Something triggers that lets you draw a card, you can send the top 3 cards from the top of your deck (sense its dredge is 3) to your graveyard to return him to your hand . You have to have at least the number of cards in your deck equal to the dredge cost. If you have less you can’t do it.

Dredging has a very big risk to it. Your sending cards from your deck to the graveyard, which means you run the risk of decking your self out. So you need to decided a) when is it a viable time to dredge and b) is the card I’m dredging for really worth it. You also need to have some insurance to reduce the chance that you inadvertently deck yourself out. I have two cards that I suggest for this. They are:

Both of these have the benefit of cycling your graveyard back into your deck. I would avoid placing the Eldrazi in there. Their ability that says “When (creature’s name) is put into a graveyard from anywhere, its owner shuffles his or her graveyard into his or her library.” could bite you if they hit the graveyard while your trying to dredge something. I’m not to sure on that though. I’d just rather avoid the headache.

As with scavenge, Dredge has a card that works well with it. Scavenge has Corpsejack Menace, dredge has Grave-Shell Scarab.

So let me explain this one. I know before that I said you have to be careful when you dredge because you risk decking yourself out. You also need to have things in your graveyard to dredge for. This gives you the ability to do that at a controlled pace. You can sacrifice it and, instead of drawing, dredge it back to your hand. It’s give you the option of both.

Dredge had two cards that saw massive use. The were Golgari Grave-Troll and Life from the Loam:

Golgari Grave-TrollLife from the Loam

They saw use in a deck that I had said once before I’m not to familiar with. I do know that because of that particular deck, Golgari Grave-Troll was banned from the modern format.

So another fun fact about dredge. It was on a land.

Well that’s both Golgari mechanics. My personal favorite is dredge. It was the mechanic I came in on.

Well, I’m Mops, and I’m signing out.

Advertisements

One thought on “Mechanics of Golgari Part 2: Dredge”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s